1.5 euro each

1.5 euro each

As discussed a few days ago in an earlier post, I recently had a four weeks travel – mostly for holidays – to France. It was a great time to get to know my new friend, the magnificent Canon 135mm f/2L *magic* prime lens.

We had visited two provincial regions: the South East, where I was born and raised – a great opportunity to catch up with my family and friends ; the South West, a mystery for us as we never went there before ; and finally Paris – well Paris remains Paris…

I had missed France. Not France itself, but its culture. How great to go to a real bookstore, with plenty of choice to feed my curiosity about history, art, and obviously photography. How nice to get a flan pâtissier (my favorite!) worthing to hold such name. How interesting it was to look at the French society with a – more and more – external standpoint (I no longer live in France for over 6 years…).

So what I try here, is to share with you some of the impressions I’ve had during the trip there. It is by no means representative of the idea I have of France, only stuff I bumped into during the trip – no montage, no setup. Anyway, before you look at the pictures, two little quotes to meditate about France:

I have tried to lift France out of the mud. But she will return to her errors and vomitings. I cannot prevent the French from being French.
Charles de Gaulle

I like Frenchmen very much, because even when they insult you they do it so nicely.
-Josephine Baker

